Home Admission Structure of Education in South Africa

Structure of Education in South Africa


School Education encompasses primary and secondary. Primary lasts for 6 times and is resolve up into 3 phases- Foundation, Intermediate and Senior phase. After completion of the primary , scholars are awarded the General and Training Certificate. After completing the secondary, scholars are awarded elderly Certificate. In South Africa, mandatory is of 9 times, starting at the age of 7 and goes on till the age of 15, followed bynon-compulsory farther education and training( FET).

ATTENTION PLEASE: Don’t miss any Updates – Follow the Cafegist Facebook Page!

Advanced system comprises of Traditional Universities, Universities of Technology and a comprehensive Universities. The Higher Education Institutions in South Africa give Bachelor, Honors, Master and Doctorate Degrees, Undergraduate and Postgraduate Warrants and instruments. Coursework is arranged in modules, with pupils registering in a unit/ credit system.

Duration of Compulsory Education in South Africa
Entry Age 6
Exit Age 15

Structure of South African Education
Pre-Primary Education
School Type Pre-Primary Schools. Just a nonage of kiddies attendpre-primary seminaries as there’s little provision by businesses, especially for kiddies below the age of 3 times. utmost of thepre-primary seminaries in South Africa are pacified by the private sector.
Age 0- 5 ages

General Education and Training( GET)
The General Education and Training comprises of Grades 0- 9 ages and is mandatory to attend.
School Type offering this position of Education: Primary School
Duration 6 years

Age Group 6- 12 Ages
National Qualification Framework: Level 1
Certificate Awarded General Education and Training Certificate
Number of Phases is 3

The phases at GET position are-

Foundation Phase – Inferior Primary seminaries offer foundation phase and is mandatory. Pupils learn to read, write, and calculate in their own language and begin to learn another.
Age 6- 9 Ages
Grade Grade 0 or’ event’ to Grade 3

Intermediate Phase: Elderly Primary seminaries educate intermediate phase education. Pupils learn to develop their practical chops and consolidate the knowledge gained at the foundation phase. They also start learning History, Geography, and General Science.

Age 9- 12 Ages

Grades 4- 6
Elderly Phase-Secondary seminaries operate at this phase. The focus shifts to art, mathematics, technology, languages, natural and social lores, At the end of this phase, scholars get hold of the ‘ General Education and Training Certificate ’.

Age 12- 15 Ages

Grades 7- 9
farther Education and Training( FET)
academy Type elderly Secondary seminaries
Duration 3
Age 15- 18
Grades 10- 12
Credential Awarded Senior Certificate
National Qualification Framework Level 2- 4
scholars have to take a public test in as a minimum of six subjects to get hold of a elderly Certificate.

Advanced Education and Training
The advanced education is communicated by the Universities of Technology or Technikons, traditional universities and comprehensive universities.
Age 18- 21
National Qualification Framework Level 5- 8
Credentials Bachelor Degree, Honors Degree, Master Degree, Doctorate Degree, Diploma and instruments( Depending upon the Programme)
Universities offer 3- time long bachelorette degrees in addition to other longer courses for vocational training, master and doctorate programmes. Programmes at Technikons diverge from 1- 4 times and are more professional than those at universities. Both number for elderly instruments but advanced educational achievement is mandatory for an admission at university.

Cafegist Category: Students Portal